Dirty Feet Trail Series #1- My first trail race

Not knowing the course being my first time in this area of desert trails in Lac Du Bois Grasslands Park in Kamloops, BC. , I set the main screen to mileage on my watch.

From the race course description I read on the Dirty Feet Trail Series web site, I knew approximately where the climbs were and their elevation. I also knew there was an “easy” start of 5 km’s on mostly even terrain as opposed to a hill climb start. This was good news to me, thinking I’d have time to warm up before the first big ascent.

I’m feeing amazingly chipper the morning after my first trail race at the age of 61! 

The 21 km Dirty Feet trail race was a fast course, and I went out faster than I wanted, but I had trained for that, knowing I’d get caught up in the crowd vibe. Unfortunately my pal Lindsay blew up on the 1st hill and was forced to walk, so I left her and stayed on the heels of a young road runner. ( Lindsay and I had agreed during a discussion prior to the race, that it was ok to split up and run at our own pace).

Pre-race, me and my buddy Lindsay. We originally met a 3 decades ago as bike couriers in Vancouver BC!

I thought to myself, “if I can manage to keep this road runner within sight, I will do ok”.

As we ran the course, I could see the long line of the lead group making their way up the long ascents, not unlike photos I’ve seen of mountaineers on their ascent to Mt. Everest. (Very much a daunting visual!)

I had to remind myself to look up and enjoy the view once in awhile, though I was mostly concerned with not tripping and having a fall.

At about 1/2 way around 10km, there was a single track out and back section, where all racers doubled back before hitting the next big hill climb. Thankfully for this section, I got to see my buddy Lindsay, still running (though not looking very happy) and was able to cheer her on and give her some encouragement. Afterwards, she told me that she was convinced to dnf at the aid station there, feeling awful with her knee giving out. Luckily one of the volunteers just before the next hill gave her the encouragement she needed to keep going and even walked part way up the hill with her!

I train carrying a full 2 litres of water and gear in my vest (about 10-12 lbs) so I am use to the weight. By doing so, I didn’t need to stop to refill at the half way aid station like the group I had been running amongst with up until then. So while the road runner and the rest of our small group stopped at the station to refill, I kept going. 

At the top of the next huge hillclimb, I looked back to see the small group power hiking up the ascent like a little train behind me, so I kept pushing. 

My body and lungs were screaming at me, giving me the opportunity to reflect on “why I am doing this to myself?” This is when I thought about all the hard training I had done; running in -27c in snow, doing hill sprints and the lot. 

Other thoughts pushed their way into my mind, like my signing up for my first 50 km ultra race this September

Am I out of my mind??
Wearing my hydration bladder in my vest under my jacket to keep the water from freezing on training runs this winter!

I began pulling strength from thinking about where my inspiration came from, having read books about people who had pushed themselves to the brink. Stories by Fridtjof Nansen from his booked, titled: The First Crossing of Greenland, a Norwegian explorer who made the first crossing of the Greenand interior in 1888, traversing the island on cross country skis. Another novel; Beyond the Trees: A Journey Alone Across Canada’s Arctic, by Adam Shoalts, a Canadian modern day explorer, who describes dragging his canoe upstream and overland being the first to map un named river headwaters; and other extraordinary persons such as Dag Aabye, who’s book I just read, titled “Outsider” written by Brett Popplewell. Dag’s life’s stories are filled with the will to exceed his own limitations even as a 70 year old ultra runner.

All of these stories give me strength, and the will to push harder than my body wants to.

#40percentrule

I continued to push every bit I could, and looked over my shoulder a couple times expecting to see that young road runner closing in on me, but was surprised to not see anyone in amongst those sage brush rolling hills! 

The small group I had been running amongst during the first half of the race had not caught up!

Understanding that this race course was out in the open, void of any trees for shade, and sunny weather forecast (even though everyone at the start line were cozied up in primaloft jackets), I shed my layers down to a thin merino wool tank and skort. The week prior I had made a point of making myself a lightweight cotton bucket hat with breathable mesh to wear to keep the sun off. My custom made hat totally paid off as the temps warmed to 21c during our race.

The reason I made this hat instead of using a ball cap, is that I can roll it up to fit into a small vest pocket. The stiff ball cap bill cannot be folded to fit in smaller pockets. Made from reclaimed fabrics.

I pushed and gave it all I had. I felt strong right up to about 18 km’s, able to do deep nasal breathing. But the last 3-4 km’s were brutal, steeeeep hills where I could barely put one foot in front of the other. 

The end was thankfully down hill where I had a few minor trips that woke me up on the steep mountain biking trail descents, but no falls, yeah!!

Finally a 250 metre flat section coming into the finish, where I went all out, finishing strong.

I ran faster than I ever have, running almost an hour in zone 3 and close to 2 hours in zone 4! I was also 1/2 hr faster than I had anticipated. I came in 1st (3:01) in the woman’s 60’s age group and was ahead of the last woman in our age group by over an hour. My good friend Lindsay pulled one out of her sock by pure determination and took 2nd! I even managed to beat a couple of women in the 20 and 30-39 age groups, who woulda thought?

Needless to say, I am pretty happy with my very first trail race! What an excellent first race experience! Thanks to @Dirtyfeetraces in Kamloops for putting on a great event!

#halfmarathon #fortypercentrule #trailrunning #dirtyfeetraces 

Dirty Feet Trail Series

About Nansen:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fridtjof_Nansen

Read The First Crossing of Greenland online:

Beyond the Trees: A Journey Alone Across Canada’s Arctic, a novel by Adam Shoalts:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/43671672-beyond-the-trees?ref=nav_sb_ss_1_12

Dag Aabye-A novel, Outsider: An Old Man, a Mountain and the Search for a Hidden Past by Brett Popplewell:

https://www.goodreads.com/en/book/show/74828817

More about Dag:

Published by Angela Kuprel

I have waited all my life to be a full time artist! I take pride in creating sustainable art and living a healthy lifestyle. Maintaining a healthy lifestyle is the key to my success! I create my best after a trail run or paddle on the lake!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started